Parliament name (generic / translated)	Skupstina / Parliamentary Assembly
Structure of parliament	Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated)	Predstavnicki dom / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments)	Dom Naroda / House of Peoples
BACKGROUND	
Dates of election / renewal (from/to)	12 October 2014
Purpose of elections	The 2014 elections once again returned a fragmented House of Representatives with 12 parties sharing the 42 seats. 28 members are elected from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 14 from the Republika Srpska (RS). The country has a tripartite presidency, with representatives from the Bosniac, Croat and Serb communities (see note 1).
	The Party of Democratic Action (SDA), led by Mr. Bakir Izetbegovic - a Bosniac member of the presidency - won 10 seats in the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and became the largest force overall. Other parties with representation in the Federation include the Democratic Front, newly formed by Mr. Zeljko Komsic , a Croat member of the presidency (five seats); Prime Minister Vjekoslav Bevanda's Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina (HDZ BiH) and its allies (four seats); and the Union for a Better Future of BiH (SBB BiH), led by media mogul Mr. Fahrudin Radoncic (four seats).
	In the RS, the Alliance of Independent Social Democrats (SNSD) took six seats. Its leader Mr. Milorad Dodik is Prime Minister of the RS and advocates for secession from Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Union for Changes (see note 2), an opposition coalition led by Mr. Mladen Ivanic, also took six seats.
	In the tripartite presidential elections, Mr. Ivanic (Serb, Party of Democratic Progress -PDP) was elected for the first time, while Mr. Izetbegovic (Bosniac, SDA) and Mr. Dragan Covic (Croat, HDZ BiH) were re-elected for a second term. The new presidency was sworn in on 17 November. As of 2 February 2015, the new government had not been formed and Mr. Bevanda leads a caretaker government.
	The 2014 elections followed devastating floods in May which caused damage estimated at 2 billion euros, equivalent to 15 per cent of the country's GDP. The unemployment rate reached 44 per cent, and three quarters of young people are jobless. Many parties focused their election campaign on economic and social issues.
	In accordance with 2014 amendments to the election law, candidate lists included 40 per cent of the less represented gender. The number of women elected increased from seven to nine.
	Note 1: The country's Executive branch consists of the tripartite presidency (which rotates every eight months between a Serb, a Bosniac and a Croat) and the Prime Minister (Chairmen of the Council of Ministers).
	Note 2: The Union for Change comprised the Serb Democratic Party (SDS) and

the Party of Democratic Progress (PDP) - People's Democratic Movement (NDP). Date of previous elections: 3 October 2010 Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A Timing of election: Upon normal expiry Expected date of next elections: October 2018 Number of seats at stake: 42 (full renewal) Number of candidates: Not available Percentage of women candidates: Not available Number of parties contesting the election: 37 Number of parties winning seats: 12 Date of the first session of the new parliament: 9 December 2014 Name of the new Speaker: - Mr. Sefik Dzaferovic (Party of Democratic Action, SDA) - Ms. Borjana Kristo (Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina, HDZ BiH) - Mr. Mladen Bosic (Serb Democratic Party, SDS) During the legislature, the post of Speaker of the House of Representatives rotates every eight months. Mr. Dzaferovic (Bosniac) will be succeeded by Ms. Kristo (Croat) and Mr. Bosic (Serb). STATISTICS Voter turnout

Round no 1	12 October 2014
Number of registered electors	
	1'747'244 (54.14%)
Blank or invalid ballot papers	
Valid votes	
Notes	

## **Distribution of votes**

Round no 1			
Political Group	Candidates	Votes	%
Party of Democratic Action (SDA)			
Alliance of Independent Social Democrats (SNSD)			
Serb Democratic Party (SDS)			
Democratic Front - Zeljko Komsic			
Union for a Better Future of BiH (SBB BiH)			
Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina (HDZ BiH) and its allies			

Social Democratic Party of Bosnia and Herzegovina (SDP)	
Croatians Together (HDZ 1990)	
Activist Democratic Party (A-SDA)	
Party of Democratic Progress (PDP) - People's Democratic Movement (NDP)	
Democratic People's Alliance (DNS) – New Srpska (NS) - Serb Radical Party (SRS)	
Bosnian-Herzegovinian Patriotic Party (BSP)	

## **Distribution of seats**

Round no 1					
Political Group		Tot al	Federation B. & H	Republika Srpska	
Party of Democratic Action (SDA)		10	9	1	
Alliance of Independent Social Democrats (SNSD)		6	0	6	
Serb Democratic Party (SDS)		5	0	5	
Democratic Front - Zeljko Komsic		5	5	0	
Union for a Better Future of BiH (SBB BiH)		4	4	0	
Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina (HDZ BiH) and its allies		4	4	0	
Social Democratic Party of Bosnia	a and Herzegovina (SDP)	3	3	0	
Croatians Together (HDZ 1990)		1	1	0	
Activist Democratic Party (A-SDA)		1	1	0	
Party of Democratic Progress (PDP) - People's Democratic Movement (NDP)		1	0	1	
Democratic People's Alliance (DNS) – New Srpska (NS) - Serb Radical Party (SRS)		1	0	1	
Bosnian-Herzegovinian Patriotic Party (BSP)		1	1	0	
Distribution of seats according	to sex				
Men Women Percent of women					
Distribution of seats according to age					
Distribution of seats according to profession					

## Comments

Sources: House of Representatives (08.12.2014) http://www.izbori.ba

Note on the Distribution of seats:

The allies of the Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) are the Croatian Peasant Party of Bosnia and Herzegovina (HSS), the Croatian Christian Democratic Union (HKDU BiH) and the Croatian Party of Rights of Bosnia and Herzegovina (HSP).