PML-N elects Shehbaz Sharif as permanent president

Pakistan Today
Fecha de publicación: 
13 Mar 2018

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has elected Shehbaz Sharif as permanent president of the party as the Central General Council met in Islamabad on Tuesday. According to media reports, Shehbaz was elected uncontested as no other candidate submitted documents for the presidency of the party.

Earlier, PML-N leader Senator Asif Kirmani told media that party meeting will be held with a single point agenda to elect the new president. Along with other leaders, Shehbaz Sharif and Maryam Nawaz attended the meeting at Convention Centre, Islamabad.

Shehbaz was elected as acting president of PML-N on February 27, after Supreme Court barred Nawaz Sharif from holding the presidency of a political party as he was disqualified in Panama Papers case.

It was also decided that Shehbaz will be elected as permanent president of PML-N after completion of the due process in a later meeting to be held on March 6. The meeting, however, could not be held mainly due to engagement of party leaders in Senate elections hence it was rescheduled for March 13.

In February 27 meeting, PML-N also elected Nawaz Sharif as supremo of the party.

Pakistan Today