Official name: 
Arab Republic of Egypt
Name in local language: 
جمهورية مصر العربية transliterated as Yumhuriyyatu Misr (Masr) al-`Arabiyya
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 1922 (independence from Britain)
  • Date of constitution/reform: Currently being drafted. The former constitution was approved in 1971 and amended in 1980, 2005 and 2007. At present the highest legal provision is the Constitutional Declaration of March 2011.
  • Form of state: Unitary
  • Administrative divisions: 27 governorates
  • Official language(s): Arabic
  • Other spoken languages:  English, Coptic, Greek and French
  • Official religion: Sunni Islam
  • Minorities:  Copts (Christians), Nubians and Bedouins.
  • Dominant actor(s): Army and Intelligence Services
  • Elected institutions of government:  government, Parliament (unicameral according to Constitution of 2013) and Presidency.
  • Non-elected  institutions of government: Supreme Council of the Armed Forces and provincial governors.
  • Party system:  emerging multi-party system. In the 2011 legislative elections four main blocs emerged: Islamist (Muslim Brotherhood), Salafist, Leftist and Liberal-Secular parties.

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Abdel Fatah Al Sisi since June 8th of 2014. He won the Presidential elections held in May 2014 with 96,9% of votes.
  • Head of government:  Ibrahim Mahleb
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs:  Sameh Shoukry
  • Minister of Interior:  Magdy Abdel Ghafar
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branchsuspended since July 2013
  • Composition legislative branch: Link to graph
  • Head of the Judiciary:  Adly Mansour, president of the Constitutional Council
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to graph