Official name: 
Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
Name in local language: 
جمهوری اسلامی افغانستان (in dari) transliterated Jumhuri-ye Islami-ye Afghanistan
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence19 August 1919
  • Date of constitution/reform: 1923; 1964; 1976; 1987; 1990; current one from 2004
  • Form of state: Federal
  • Administrative divisions:
  • Official language(s): Dari (Afghan Persian) and Pashtun
  • Other spoken languages:  Other Turkoman languages such as Uzbek or Tayik; Baluchi, Pashai or Nuristani
  • Official religion: Confessional (Islamic)
  • Minorities: Tayik, Hazara, Uzbek, Turkoman, Qizilbash, Baluchi, among others
  • Dominant actor(s): War barons
  • Elected institutions of government: The Presidency, the Lower House of Parliament and the Provincial Councils (the District Councils will also be subject to public suffrage, although they have not yet been formed).
  • Non-elected  institutions of government: The Upper House of Parliament (indirectly elected)
  • Party system: There are political parties, but candidates run as independents.

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai, since September 2014.
  • Head of government:there is no Prime Minister but after 2014 elections, the figure of Chief Executive was created for Abdullah Abdullah
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Salahuddin Rabbani
  • Minister of Interior: Taj Mohammad Jahid.
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch: Wolesi Yirga: Abdul Rauf Ebrahimi; Meshrano Yirga: Fazel Hadi Muslemyar.
  • Composition legislative branch
  • Head of the Judiciary: Sayed Yosuf Halim.
  • Schematic representation of the political system