Official name: 
State of Qatar
Name in local language: 
Dawlat Qatar, دولة قطر
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 1971, from UK
  • Date of constitution/reform: Constitution since 2003
  • Form of state: Centralized or unitary
  • Administrative divisions: It is divided into 7 municipalities (baladiyat)
  • Official language(s): Arabic
  • Other spoken languages: English
  • Official religion: Islam wahabí
  • Minorities: The majority of the population consists of foreigners (83%), among which are highlighted the Indians, first foreign community, followed by other Asian communities. The others main religions are Christianity and Hinduism.
  • Dominant actor(s): Royal family al-Thani.
  • Elected institutions of government:  Although, according to the Constitution, are elected 2/3 of the Parliament (Consultative Council) and the remaining third is appointed (45 in total), up to now, has no been elections, so that in the currently the Council is formed of 35 appointed members. The Central Municipal Council is elected and composed of 29 directors.
  • Non-elected institutions of government: Government, local authorities (municipalities management depends directly to the Ministry of Municipalities) and part of the Consultative Council (in theory, in practice, all).
  • Party system: Parties are prohibited.

Current authorities

  • Head of State: Tamim ben Hamad al-Thani, since 2013.
  • Head of government: Abdulá ben Naser ben Jalifa al-Thani, since 2013.
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Jaled ben Mohamed al-Attia
  • Minister of Interior: Abdulá ben Naser ben Jalifa al-Thani
  • Head of Legislative Branch: Majlis al-Shura
  • Head of Judiciary: Tamim ben Hamad al-Thani
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to PDF