Official name: 
Islamic Republic of Iran
Name in local language: 
in Farsi, جمهوری اسلامی ایران, transliterated as Jomhūrī-e Eslāmī-e Īrān
Form of government: 
    • Founding date/ Date of independence: 1979 (Islamic Revolution)
    • Date of constitution/reform: 1979/1989
    • Form of state: Unitary
    • Administrative divisions: 30 provinces
    • Official language(s): Persian (Farsi)
    • Other spoken languages: Azeri, Arabic, Kurdish, Baluchi, Luri, Mazandarani, among others
    • Official religion: Shi'a Islam 
    • Minorities: Ethnic minorities: Azeris, Arabs, Kurds, Baluchis; Religious minorities: Sunnis, Christians, Jews
    • Dominant actor(s): Shi'a clergymen, Revolutionary Guard (Sepah-e Pasdaran)
    • Elected institutions of government: Presidency, Islamic Consultative Assembly (Parliament), Assembly of Experts, Municipal Councils.
    • Non-elected  institutions of government: Supreme Leadership, Council of Guardians, Discernment (or Expediency) Council, National Security Council
    • Party system: There are no legally recognized parties, but there are more than 300 professional and clerical associations currently acting as parties, and registered at the Ministry of Interior

Current authorities

      • Head of state: Ali Khamenei, since 1989
      • Head of government: Hassam Rouhani, since 2013
      • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mohammad Javad Zarif
      • Minister of Interior: Abdolreza Rahmani Fazli
      • Head of Legislative Branch: Ali Larijani
      • Head of Assembly of Experts: Mohammad Yazdi
      • Head of Council of Guardians: Ali Jannati
      • Head of Discernment (or Expediency) Council: Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani
      • Composition legislative branch:
      • Head of the Judiciary: Sadegh Larijani
      • Schematic representation of the political system: