Official name: 
Federal Republic of Somalia
Name in local language: 
Jamhuuriyadda Federaalka Soomaaliya; جمهورية الصومال الفدرالية (Jumhuriyat as-Sumal al-Federaliya)
Form of government: 
Political system: 
Conflict situation
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 1 July 1960
  • Date of constitution/reform: 1 August 2012
  • Form of state: Federal
  • Administrative divisions: As yet non-determined.
  • Official language(s): Somali
  • Other spoken languages: Arabic, English
  • Official religion: Islam (non denominational) 
  • Minorities: Bantus / Minor clans (Rahanweyn)
  • Dominant actor(s): Four main Somali clans
  • Elected institutions of government: Local Authorities
  • Non-elected  institutions of government: Federal Parliament (elections forecast to take place in 2015-16), President, Government
  • Party system: Without elected institutions, Somalia's fledgling multi-party system is as yet untested.

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed, since 8 February 2017
  • Head of government: Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmake, since December 2014
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Fowsiyo yusuf Haji Aadan
  • Minister of Interior: Abdikarim Hussein Guled
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch: Speaker of the Upper House of the Federal Parliament; Mohamed Oswan HJawari
  • Composition legislative branch: Members appointed on a basis of a 4.5 formula (four main clans to have same number of seats and other minorities half)
  • Head of the Judiciary: Aideed Ilka-Hanaf
  • Schematic representation of the political system