Small parties’ votes hit rock bottom in Nov. 1 election

Todays Zaman
Publication date: 
Nov 02 2015

A total of 12 small parties in the Nov. 1 general election failed to gain any seats in Parliament, as the Justice and Development Party (AK Party) regained the majority in a repeat parliamentary election on Sunday by winning 49 percent of the vote.

The small parties that participated in the election were the Grand Unity Party (BBP), Felicity Party (SP), Rights and Freedoms Party (HAK-PAR), People's Liberation Party (HKP), Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), True Path Party (DYP), Independent Turkey Party (BTP), Democratic Party (DP), Democratic Left Party (DSP), Communist Party (KP), Nation Party (MP) and the Homeland Party (VP).

With 98 percent of the votes counted, the unofficial results of the election showed that none of the small parties were able to garner more than 0.7 percent of the vote. The SP and BBP received more votes than other small parties, with 0.68 and 0.54 vote percentages, respectively.

The remaining 10 political parties were below 0.3 percent. The VP received 0.24 percent, HAK-PAR 0.21 percent, HKP 0.16 percent, KP 0.14 percent, DP 0.13 percent, BTP 0.1 percent, DSP 0.07 percent, LDP 0.06 percent, MP 0.05 percent and the DYP received 0.03 percent of the vote.

The SP and BBP formed an electoral coalition called “The National Alliance” before the June 7 general elections in order to increase their vote percentage, but failed to achieve this. While the alliance was expected to pass the 10 percent election threshold, it was only able to win 2.06 percent of the vote.

According to data from the Cihan news agency, the main opposition Republican People's Party (CHP) received 25.5 percent and the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) 12 percent, while the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), which widened its appeal beyond its core Kurdish vote to center-left and secularist segments of society, received 10.69 percent of the nationwide vote in the Nov. 1 election. These percentages translate into 313 seats for the AK Party, 134 for the CHP, 42 for the MHP and 61 for the HDP.